New Arctic Monkeys and more…

13 Apr

You’ve probably heard ‘Don’t Sit Down Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair’ by now, but in case you’ve had your head in the sand for the past couple of days you can check it out below. I’m still undecided – whilst I’m positive that I like it, I certainly don’t love it and I have reservations about a few aspects of the sound and style – and I’ve never had any reservations about an Arctic Monkeys single before. The album ‘Suck It And See’ (yet more reservations about that title) will be out on the 5th June, it also includes ‘Brick by Brick’ (which I like) and ‘Piledriver Waltz’ (which I love!).

Also below is the new single from ex-Busted and Fightstar frontman Charlie Simpson, a song inspired by Jackson Browne and The Beach Boys. It’s yet another interesting change in direction for Simpson, someone I’ve always admired, and I look forward to hearing the album.

Then there is a new song from the recently deceased LCD Soundsystem, covering ‘Live Alone’, a stand out from Franz Ferdinand’s 2009 album ‘Tonight’.

Finally, Mellowhype (of Oddfuture) popped by to some American Tv show to give a performance of ’64’. Interestingly they are backed by another brilliant new band, ‘Bass Drum of Death’, and you can also check out their new single below.

Leave a Reply

