R.I.P The White Stripes / Their Ten Greatest Songs

3 Feb

I was sad to hear that the White Stripes had split up, and although I never considered them to be quite as good as some critics made out I always enjoyed their records. In fact revisiting the albums this week I realized I like them a lot more than I thought I did; I’d forgotten just what an impact the heavy rock of ‘Elephant’ had on me when it was released in 2003, especially as I mainly listened to pop back then. I’d forgotten how excellent and underrated ‘Get Behind Me Satan’ is, it’s still my favourite album by the band and hopefully now it will get the recognition it deserves. I’d forgotten just what a stellar live act they were and it makes me sad to think that I never saw them at their peak. Of course these days comebacks and reunions are all the rage so I doubt this is the last we will hear of The White Stripes, but if it is then they have left a pretty fine legacy. Below are my ten favourite WS songs.

10.

9.

8.

7.

6.

5.

4.

3.

2. 

1.

Leave a Reply

