Britpop revisited

19 Jun

Britpop is undergoing a re-evaluation in the music press as of late – and now the people that market nostalgia have moved on from the late 80’s to the mid 90’s and we are about to see a surge of britpop themed compilations. It is inevitable that after a certain period of time has passed, labels will go back and exploit peoples memories of a genre or movement for all it’s worth. The Britpop revival starts here with the first genuine  look back at the period of British music, a compilation called ‘Common People’.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Common-People-Brit-Story-Box-Set/dp/B0027WJEDS

It’s a decent set, whilst they clearly haven’t had a lot of money to splash around (notable omissions include Oasis and Blur, the two biggest acts of the movement) they have compiled a good CD, if one disk too long. I’m predicting that next Summer we shall see even more of these comp’s, maybe the odd documentary and even some throwback bands.

I have both good and bad memories of Britpop. I an remember vaguely the controversy that followed Oasis as the bad boy’s of rock, and songs such as ‘Staying out for the summer’, ‘wake up boo’ and ‘wonderwall’ were absolutely everywhere – even a 6 year old child couldn’t miss hearing them. My main memories though are of it’s decline. I was completely bored by Britpop and now realize I mostly remember it’s dieing years, the Oasis imitators, drab overlong songs and baggy jeans; It was an inescapable culture as much as a music movement. Now I am  discovering earlier gems of the period so I welcome CD’s like Common people which will help me re-discover the music of my childhood.

Below is my ultimate Britpop playlist – 25 of my favourite Britpop songs, one song per band. Some are on the CD but most aren’t. (click to hear)

1. Live Forever – Oasis
2. Trash – Suede
3. Staying Out For The Summer – Dodgy
4. Wake Up Boo! – The Boo Radlys
5. Alright – Supergrass
6. Common People – Pulp
7. Slight Return – The Bluetones
8. Mulder and Scully – Catatonia
9. All you good good people – Embrace
10. Parklife – Blur
11. The Day we Caught The Train – Ocean Colour Scene
12. Female of The Species – Space
13. Just – Radiohead
14. Nancy Boy – Placebo
15. Linger – The Cranberries
16. Brimful of Asha – Cornershop
17. If You tolerate this – Manic Street Preachers
18. Girl From mars – Ash
19. Ocean Drive – Lighthouse Family
20. Tubthumping – Chumbawumba
21. Rotterdam – The Beautiful south
22. How Bizzare – OMC
23. Walkaway – Cast
24. You and me song -The Wannadies
25. The Drugs Don’t Work – The Verve

It would be just as easy to do the 24 worst – but I would rather slit my wrists than hear them all over again! I just hope that there isn’t oversaturation with the Britpop revival, I would hate things to go back to how they were in the late 90’s when the worst of Britpop was everywhere.

Leave a Reply

